Describe Online

Colour - Pantone 072 blue (darker than Victoria)

Routes to Heathrow Airport

The Piccadilly Line operates two services to the airport. All trains begin at either Cockfosters or Arnos Grove and run via central London to either Heathrow Terminal 4 or Heathrow Terminal 5. Piccadilly Line trains are fitted with audible announcements.

Trains to Terminal 4 run in a clockwise direction around the one way loop from Hatton Cross (westbound) to Hatton Cross (eastbound) via Heathrow Terminal 4 and Heathrow T123. Trains usually wait for a few minutes at Heathrow Terminal 4 station, as this serves as the terminus of the line.

The route is described on our map as Piccadilly (Heathrow Terminal 4 Loop).

The audible announcements in the (westbound) trains say: "This is a Piccadilly Line service to Heathrow Terminals 4 and 1 2 3".

Trains to terminal 5 continue westbound from Hatton Cross to Heathrow T123 and then proceed on to Heathrow Terminal 5 where they terminate. Trains then leave the westbound platform once empty and reverse in a siding. They then reenter the station on the eastbound platform and on departure return via Heathrow T123, Hatton Cross (eastbound) and then on back through central London to Arnos Grove or Cockfosters. This route is described on our map as Piccadilly (Heathrow Branch).

Trains usually alternate between those going round the terminal 4 loop and those heading to terminal 5. If you're travelling to terminals 1 2 3, then you're advised to take a train bound for Terminal 5, as this is the quickest and most direct route.

Starting in the West

Heathrow Terminal 5 Mainline, Paddington - Heathrow Express 6
Heathrow T123 Piccadilly (Heathrow Terminal 4 Loop)
Mainline, Paddington - Heathrow Express
Mainline, Paddington - Heathrow Connect
Hatton Cross Piccadilly (Heathrow Terminal 4 Loop) Boundary 5 - 6
Hounslow West   5
Hounslow Central   4
Hounslow East   4
Osterley   4
Boston Manor   4
Northfields   3
South Ealing   3
Acton Town District (Ealing Broadway Branch)

Back Links

TUBE map


2011 Terry Robinson and Chris Cook